Cosplay Closet – Wednesday Addams by Tai

Ever since I was a kid that I watched the black and white TV show of The Addams Family, I’ve loved both Wednesday and Morticia. When I got older, I never stopped wanting to cosplay as one of them (eventually I will do Morticia too!) and so when I went to the Animate! Miami Con back in October 2015, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to cosplay as Wednesday Addams.

As usual, I not only come up with cosplays from my own closet, but I give it my own personal touch. In the case of Wednesday, I wanted to make her the grown up, little sexier version, so I wore a short black haired wig and put on some lipstick (a color I am sure Wednesday would rock IRL).

What I used for this cosplay:

Outfit:

A traditional white button down shirt (similar http://www.target.com/p/women-s-favorite-shirt-merona/-/A-15636949?ref=tgt_adv_XS000000&AFID=google_pla_df&CPNG=PLA_Women%2BShopping&adgroup=Button+Down+Shirts_SC&LID=700000001170770pgs&network=g&device=c&location=9011961&gclid=Cj0KEQjw0dy4BRCuuL_e5MeqmNABEiQAq8iNI9JaWbApVCNfazp6eAwNEKZE9QxSUoKSiRW6DeM9pfQaAkYa8P8HAQ&gclsrc=aw.ds)

A v-neck black tee (from Target  http://www.target.com/p/women-s-vee-t-shirt-mossimo-supply-co-juniors/-/A-15659063#prodSlot=medium_1_6&term=tshirt+black+vneck)

A short, black leather skater skirt (similar https://www.etsy.com/listing/215858901/beautiful-black-skater-wet-look-faux?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=shopping_us_c-clothing-womens_clothing-skirts&utm_custom1=26fc1e6d-4b1c-4381-aa83-713217c3c523&gclid=Cj0KEQjw0dy4BRCuuL_e5MeqmNABEiQAq8iNI6hu36uDwvDM2uR6PIADKbBqsa30YjESNtjkLNMb8tgaAj7I8P8HAQ)

Black tights (from Target http://www.target.com/p/women-s-tights-xhilaration/-/A-17303509?ref=tgt_adv_XS000000&AFID=google_pla_df&CPNG=PLA_Women%2BShopping&adgroup=Tights_SC&LID=700000001170770pgs&network=g&device=c&location=9011961&gclid=Cj0KEQjw0dy4BRCuuL_e5MeqmNABEiQAq8iNI-GW1MWoFUcYlahs7GlNxhj4rqQJB1fn1rABQj9WqzEaAtrP8P8HAQ&gclsrc=aw.ds)

Black ballerina flats (similar http://www.target.com/p/women-s-ona-scrunch-ballet-flat/-/A-16480799?ref=tgt_adv_XS000000&AFID=google_pla_df&CPNG=PLA_Shoes%2BShopping&adgroup=SC_Shoes&LID=700000001170770pgs&network=g&device=c&location=9011961&gclid=Cj0KEQjw0dy4BRCuuL_e5MeqmNABEiQAq8iNIwLnoXLVUZk3Q_xQTGWTQyz7CqW21sky7q1ALmh7NUUaAleZ8P8HAQ&gclsrc=aw.ds)

 

Make-Up:

White Halloween make-up

Dark Gray Eye shadow

Mascara

Dark Wine Lipstick (Dark Wine by Wet n Wild)

Accessories:

Skull Bracelet

Black Bracelet

“Arsenic Poison” Bottle

The way I made Wednesday a little sexy is by leaving a few buttons from my white button down unbuttoned (so a tiny bit of cleavage could be seen) and by wearing a skirt shorter than she probably would. Of course the smoky eye and the lipstick add to that too.

As for accessories, Wednesday is a woman of not only few words, but few accessories too (unlike me, who loves wearing watches, and bracelets, and earrings, etc), so I only wore a black string bracelet I own with a bracelet of skulls I also own. No earrings, no watch. Of course I had to include her favorite accessory: Arsenic Poison! For the bottle, I went to Michael’s and bought the cute little cork bottle you see in the picture below (they’re about $1-2), put water in it and mixed in some green and blue food coloring until it was the shade of poison I wanted.

Without further ado, here are some pics of my Wednesday Addams cosplay:

unnamed (1)

 

At the entrance to Animate! Miami

unnamed (3)

 

Even dressed as Wednesday, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity of taking a pic with a fellow Hufflepuff

unnamed (2)

Leave a Reply

